Day 1 at Dubai.

Do you remember growing up and the time came for your family vacation; your hearts racing, imagination just fills your head, the anticipation of running to the front desk because your about to have the time of your life? 

Well that’s me, I will tell you seeing the palm islands, sky scrappers and other grand architecture just leaves me in astonishment. 

So as the plane landed, your greeted at the airport by the locals. You can very well see the different cultures just running about. So after securing my l luggage; I needed to exchange money. Unfortunately they do not accept debit or credit cards at the exchanges. For you buget traveler I would suggest bringing cash and the amount your willing to spend. The ATM there are rather difficult and some may not work with your card, so do keep that in mind. Leaving upon the airport, you have choices; rent a car, taxis, etc. For those taking taxis, I recommend staying with a regular taxi; do not take the black lexus. The difference will be substantial. 

So after arriving at my hotel and securing my stuff. I went to the old Dubai. The gold souk. Now there are more things to the souk besides precious stones and gold. Textiles, spices and other things just fill the space there. You hear Pakistani, bangledesh, and other ethnic groups here. It’s quite the maze, mind you know be careful,  people will try and sell you everything and anything.  I suggest trying some of the local street food there, you can taste the culture of the people of who cook it. 

To finish off my day I spent the evening at jumeriah beach. It’s free or you can pay 150 AED to enter the swimming pool. Lots of expats and locals alike flock there for a night fun. Just be yourself, meet new people and have a good time!

-Yan Rodgers

24 May 2017

Leave a Reply

